top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Facemask Friday

Now we all like making our skin look the best it possibly can, whether it be using makeup or having a vast skincare routine. However I think one of the best ways to look after your skin is to use facemasks once or twice a week.

If you didn't know already, by the end of this post you'll find out that I absolutely love facemasks, a lot of people think they are a gimmick, but if you find the right one for your skin type, you'll see how good they are. I started using facemasks about two years ago to see whether they would help my problem skin in any way. My skin (for those interested) is combination to oily skin, my forehead is really dry but around my t-zone can get quite oily throughout the day. I also have some scarring from acne and quite large pores, especially on my nose.

Because of my acne prone skin and oily t-zone, I tend to use a lot of products that will make my skin appear matte, as well as using gels to help reduce the appearances of any spots I have. However in doing this I neglect the dry parts of my face, which isn't good so I do like to every now and again use a hydrating face mask, just to add some moisture to my skin. I recommend you do this as well if, like me, you use a lot of spot gels (trust me you'll notice the difference).

Today my skin was feeling very dry so I decided to give the Garnier Moisture Bomb Hydrating Mask a try because I had seem some good reviews online. I bought it from boots for £2.99 and it is part of Garnier's skin active moisture bomb range, which I do want to try in future. The mask itself contains pomegranate extract, hyaluronic acid, and plant serum and it claims to instantly re-hydrate the skin, revive the skin and reduce the appearance of fine lines.

It is a tissue mask so if you're not a fan of that type of mask, then this won't be the right one for you. When I got the mask out of the packaging, it was very wet and almost soggy, but that just means it has a lot of product soaked in the mask. Like all tissue masks it is a one size fits all, but it has little hooks you can put around your ears so it stays in place better.

The instructions say to put the mask on for 15 minutes and then once you've taken it off rub in the excess product left on your face. If i'm honest, I was a little worried about using the mask when I saw how much product was in the mask, as my skin is quite sensitive and i wasn't sure if it would cause a reaction , but I risked it and while I was waiting I had a chocolate biscuit (I made myself giggle).

I never felt like my skin was tingling or burning in any way while I had the mask on, so I kept it on for the full 15 minutes. Surprisingly, my skin wasn't a tomato when I took of the mask either which always happens when I use facemasks, it actually looked quite glowy and soft (hooray!) I didn't notice fine lines being reduced, but maybe that is something that happens if you use keep using these masks.

Overall I did like this mask, it looks a bit overpowering when you first get it out of the packet, but it was very gentle on the skin, and actually felt quite soothing as well. Tissue masks always feel a bit weird when you first try them, but once you get past the initial 'oh hell that's cold' feeling its a very good mask. Obviously everybody's skin is different and can react to different ingredients, but my skin is very sensitive to products, especially masks, and my skin seemed to be ok with it, so I do recommend it to my fellow sensitive skin pals out there.

See you next week for another edition of 'Facemask Friday!'

If you enjoyed reading this post please like, follow and share with your friends! xxx

 
bottom of page